Because the College Football Playoff committee could not agree on future expansion, the playoff will stay at four participants until the 2025 season, when the current 12-year contract ends.

The committee has postponed its next in-person meeting, which was scheduled for March 2 in Dallas, sources informed Sports Illustrated’s Ross Dellenger on Friday. As a result, an agreement on a 12-team model will not be achieved before the deadline.

On Wednesday, the 10 FBS commissioners and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick informed the College Football Playoff Board of Managers, which is made up of 11 presidents and chancellors, that a unanimous agreement on the expansion could not be reached.

On Friday, Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff, issued a statement announcing the news.

Hancock said in the statement that the group will continue to discuss a possible expansion as early as the 2026–27 season. This offers the committee more time to explore the expansion’s issues in more depth before adopting the modification.

“While the event did not result in a proposal for an early expansion before the present 12-year contract expires, the talks were useful and enlightening.” “I am certain that they will serve as a valuable reference for the Board of Managers and the Management Committee as we define what the Playoff will look like starting in the 2026-2027 season,” Hancock said in a statement.

The expansion vote was 8–3, with the ACC, PAC-12, and Big Ten all voting against the 12-team plan starting in 2024, according to College Football Playoff board chair Mark Keenum, the president of Mississippi State.

Following this announcement, it is uncertain when the next committee meeting will take place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *